Wisconsin, Seattle win Club National Championships titles

Two skips with plenty of national titles can each add one more their collection as Debbie McCormick and Lyle Sieg led their curling teams to the top of the podium at the 2018 USA Curling Club National Championships Saturday at the Brainerd Lakes Curling Club.

In the women’s showdown between two teams from the Madison (Wis.) Curling Club, McCormick’s team defeated skip Lori Karst’s team 10-5 to win the gold medal. Karst fell behind in the first half of the game to McCormick, a four-time Olympian, and couldn’t overcome the deficit in the second half. This is the first Club Nationals titles for McCormick and her teammates Miranda Hofmann (Madison, Wis.) and Rebecca Reinhart (Monona, Wis.) and the second for and Reinhart and second for Shelly Kosal (Edgerton, Wis.), who also won in 2006. It is the third overall women’s title won by the Madison club.

McCormick’s team lost its first two games of the tournament before rallying to win its next seven games of the nine-game round-robin format. The team then beat Tempe, Ariz. In Friday’s semifinals to earn a trip to the championship game against its Madison clubmates: Karst (Madison, Wis.), Cynthia Rhyner (McFarland, Wis.), Rebecca Westphal (Verona, Wis.), and Anne Pryor (Madison, Wis.).

On the men’s side, Sieg (Blaine, Wash.) and his Granite Curling Club teammates Sam Galey (Seattle), Matt Birklid (Seattle), and Steve Lundeen (Seattle) defeated Bill Stopera of New York’s Ardsley Curling Club, 5-2. Stopera (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.) and his team of Martin Sather (Yonkers, N.Y.), Peter Austin (Rockville Centre, N.Y.), and George Austin (Rockville Centre, N.Y.) had a modest 2-1 lead at the fifth-end break but it was all Sieg’s team in the second half as it stole three points over the final two ends. This is the second Club Nationals titles for Sieg and Lundeen, who also won in 2015 after capturing the Senior Nationals and World Seniors titles. This is the fourth title for the Granite Curling Club. 

“It’s been a privilege to throw at Lyle’s broom for the past six or seven years. We’ve had an enjoyable and productive run together – the highlight obviously being the World Championship we won in Sochi in 2015,” Lundeen said. “Due to circumstances beyond our control, this is likely to be our last national event together. And that’s okay. We’ve ended on a high note. Thanks to Sam and Matt (and 5th-man extraordinaire, Duane Rutan) for throwing in on this team. Every man did his job. It was the definition of a team effort here at 2018 Club Nationals.”

In the bronze-medal games, Jayne Burton led her Tempe-based Coyotes Curling Club team to a 10-7 win over two-time champion Nicole Vorachek of the Capital Curling Club in Bismarck, N.D. And Jeffrey Knott’s Dallas-Fort Worth men’s team scored a point in the final end to secure a 6-4 victory over Justin McBride’s team from the San Francisco Bay Area Curling Club. Final results are posted at http://go.teamusa.org/2Ej2LFB.

Line scores, gold-medal games:
*Sieg                   000 100 112 x – 5
Stopera               010 010 000 x – 2

*McCormick      031 100 401 x – 10
Karst                    100 001 030 x – 5 

Line scores, bronze-medal games:
McBride              010 100 002 0 – 4
*Knott                 101 002 010 1 – 6

Burton                300 021 301 x – 10
*Vorachek         031 100 020 x – 7 

Gold medalists:
Madison Curling Club (Wisconsin Region): Debbie McCormick (Rio, Wis.), Miranda Hofmann (Madison, Wis.), Rebecca Reinhart (Monona, Wis.), Shelly Kosal (Edgerton, Wis.)

Granite Curling Club (Washington Region): Lyle Sieg (Blaine, Wash.), Sam Galey (Seattle), Steve Lundeen (Seattle), Matt Birklid (Seattle)

Silver medalists:
Madison Curling Club (Wisconsin Region): Lori Karst (Madison, Wis.), Cynthia Rhyner (McFarland, Wis.), Rebecca Westphal (Verona, Wis.), Anne Pryor (Madison, Wis.)

Ardsley Curling Club (Grand National Region): Bill Stopera (Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.), Martin Sather (Yonkers, N.Y.), Peter Austin (Rockville Centre, N.Y.), George Austin (Rockville Centre, N.Y.)

Bronze medalists:
Dallas-Fort Worth Curling Club (Mid-America Region): Jeff Knott (Dallas, Texas), Laith Sando (Burleson, Texas), Nick Myers (Arlington, Texas), John Lambert (Garland, Texas), Kevin Roberts (Frisco, Texas)

Coyotes Curling Club (Mountain Pacific Region): Jayne Burton (Scottsdale, Ariz.), Tatiana Keeling (Casa Grande, Ariz.), Amy Thompson (Gilbert, Ariz.), Kimberly Gaddie (Apache Junction, Ariz.) 

Fourth-place teams:
San Francisco Bay Area Curling Club (Mountain Pacific Region): Justin McBride (Anaheim, Calif.), Erik Jensen (San Francisco, Calif.), Sean Franey (El Cerrito, Calif.), Joel Calhoun (Lake Forest, Calif.)

Capital Curling Club (Dakota Territory Region): Nicole Vorachek (Mandan, N.D.), Corrina Stroh (Bismarck, N.D.), Breynn Sturlaugson (Bismarck, N.D.), Roxanne Howes (Bismarck, N.D.)

About the event:
The Club National Championships began in 2005 as another avenue for teams trying to compete at a higher level. Teams qualify via a regional playdown system. The Fargo-Moorhead (Dakota Territory Region) and Fairbanks (Alaska Region) clubs were the champions last season.

USA Curling is sponsored by AtomOS, Nike, Brooms Up Curling Supplies, Cheetos, CryoMAX 8-Hour Cold Pack, Sitrin, The RAM Restaurant & Brewery, Thorne, BalancePlus, ISS Ice, Sports & Solar, and Brakebush, and is partnered with Laurie Artiss Ltd. – The Pin People, United Airlines, 12th End Sports Network, and CurlingZone.


For more information: Terry Davis, Director of Communications, terry.davis@usacurl.org, 608-338-9900 (mobile) or 715-344-1199, Ext. 202 (office).


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *