Nelsons + Joe = Holden Bonspiel championship

    The Brainerd Curling Club punctuated the end of its 2023-24 curling season March 23-24 with a salute to its beneficiary during a two-day bonspiel named in her honor: The Fran Holden Memorial Bonspiel.

    For club members and their guests only, the 16-team bonspiel accomplished what it sets out to do, give members one last chance to enjoy a weekend of curling, socializing and fun.

    In the end, Team Nelson rolled through the competition undefeated, winning the A Event. Joe Dehen was an honorary Nelson for the weekend, rounding out the foursome of Bob, Lori and Dusty Nelson. Their names will go on the Fran Holden Memorial Bonspiel trophy.

    One The Rocks, featuring a pair of Williams, won the B Event. The father-son combo of Michael and Austin Williams were joined by Robert Haugly and Jarrett Swanson.

    In the C Event, Last Team In won the finals, with team members Tim and Kelli Johnson, Alex Tiffany and 10-year-old Luci Viehauser. Special congrats to Luci!

    And Team Hultstrom won the D Event, with Lynn and Bob Hultstrom, Alicia Haag and Zach Cadwell.

    Good curling, everyone, and congratulations on another spectacular season!

    Team Nelson, A Event winners with the trophy, from left, Bob, Lori and Dusty Nelson, and Joe Dehen (not a Nelson)

    On The Rocks, B Event winner, from left, Michael Williams, Austin Williams, Jarrett Swanson, Robert Haugly

    Last Team In, C Event winner, from left, Alex Tiffany, Luci Viehauser, Kelli and Tim Johnson

    Team Hultstrom, D Event winner, from left, Zach Cadwell, Alicia Haag, Lynn and Bob Hultstrom

    Recent Posts

    Follow us On Facebook!

    For more information, photos, and discussions, join us on Facebook!

    related stories