Congrats to our new board members and Volunteers of the Year

    The club’s Board of Directors held its annual meeting March 23 and elected new board members. The board also selected the 2024 Volunteer of the Year, which turned out to be co-winners: Dave Bolander and John Agre.

    In all, 10 club members stepped up to volunteer their time on the Board of Directors. So, regardless if they were elected or not, we thank all 10 of them for their interest and we hope they volunteer for the board again in the future. This year, seven board positions were open. Below are those elected to two-year terms that start May 20, 2024:
    Mark Mitzel, re-elected
    Shawn Close, re-elected
    Thomas Zimmermann, re-elected
    Tina Johnson
    Chris Foley
    Jerome Mauro
    Nick Weeks

    The Board members whose terms ended this year are below. We thank them for their time and efforts:
    Craig Johnson
    Kelly Gorvin
    Angie Ealy
    Bob Nelson

    The Board members who are in mid-term:
    Michael McEniry
    Robert Archer
    Megan Junge
    Megan Morgan

    Co-Volunteers of the Year

    Each year, the board elects the Volunteer of the Year from the club’s membership. This year, the vote was tied between Dave Bolander and John Agre, both of who are on our ice-making crew and spend countless hours ensuring that the ice is in excellent shape for the many hours of curling that is played on it every day of the week. They’re our Co-Volunteers of the Year. Dave has been on the ice crew for many years and can be found at the club nearly every day. John joined the ice crew this year but has taken on an extended role, prepping the ice during the day to get it ready for league play at night. Both curl on league teams as well. Congratulations to both! The club is a better place with Dave and John!

    Dave Bolander, left, and John Agre

    Recent Posts

    Follow us On Facebook!

    For more information, photos, and discussions, join us on Facebook!

    related stories